Is Racism More Fun for Blondes?

tennis-bigotIf you haven’t seen the clip or heard the news mediocre tennis “star” Caroline Wozniacki mocked Serena Williams’ fabulous figure on a tennis court in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Some have already compared Wozniacki’s actions to wearing black face. An apt comparison, in my opinion. I suppose, this is what bitter, racist WW do when they realize that they will never measure up to the best of the best? To paraphrase one of the commenters on a sports blog I can’t recall the name of, “Too bad Wozniacki didn’t bring Serena’s game onto the court with her.”

I first heard this story in my Facebook news feed from For Black Women ONLY: “…Ever since the Williams sisters came on the scene, these white female tennis players got shook. They realize that being pretty and white may get some endorsements but it will not win tournaments. They need to step their game all the way up. Where are the Billie Jean Kings, the Martina Navratilovas, the Steffi Grafs? These broads can only mock the Williams sisters because they will never be as great as them…”

I could not agree more.

I know that many people believe that this is a simple matter of jealousy and/or racism, but I know from experience that it’s deeper than that. I have never heard of a WM athlete mocking a BM athlete in this way, and I doubt I ever will. And this isn’t because there are no jealous and racist WM athletes – far from it, but because a WM athlete would not expect to get away with such behavior. They would not expect people to take their side and say that they were “just having fun”. This knowledge effectively checks any desire to behave in such a manner.

However, experience tells WW that they will not be called out for their racist words and actions, simply because they are women.

Awhile ago, a WW I worked with tried very hard to get me fired from my job. But I was wise enough to recognize her as my enemy from day one, and began keeping a journal of her actions and words and recording her many (I captured more than 4 dozen) failed attempts to goad me into some sort of angry confrontation. I guess she wanted to portray me as the ‘angry Black women who attacked the poor, helpless White woman’.

I recorded her whenever possible – even in the ladies room, using my cell phone, a voice activated recorder and even the sound recorder software on my computer at work. And it really paid off. She was fired last year, and I haven’t had a problem with anyone at my company since that time. This includes her cheerleaders in my department, some of whom were also caught on tape (so to speak).

In the end, her lies could not compete with my mountain of evidence. In addition, another employee testified on my behalf. My tormentor should not have gone around repeatedly announcing to everyone that “[she's] not racist” but she believes “that people should stick with their own kind.” The co-worker who testified for me was an Asian woman with a White husband. Apparently, she believed that an AW would be on-board with her belief that a Black women didn’t deserve my job, despite my qualifications.

Now, it is possible that this woman was angry that my hiring was based on the recommendation of a man who began working at the company nearly a year after she did, and who was later promoted ahead of her (this was suggested by another WW co-worker); or because it was rumored that he and I had dated (he’s White, btw). Also, the week before she began her official campaign to get me fired – through lies, innuendo and finally outright sabotage – my engagement had been announced in the local paper, and it included a photo of me and the man who became my husband.

I actually suspect that all of these factors came into play, at different points in time, but I don’t believe that she would have done and said the things that she did to me if she had believed that there would be a price to pay. She appeared completely dumbfounded when she was fired. Which, considering her brazenly bad behavior, was shocking to me.

I suspect that Caroline Wozniacki also did not expect that anyone would dare to criticize or confront her for her blatantly offensive behavior. She has not been punished, and probably won’t be but even criticism of racist, offensive behavior is new to such WW. That is why it happened. I’ve no doubt about that.

The Newsone.com poll asked “Do you think Wozniacki was being disrespectful toward Williams?” Last time I checked

84.73% said ‘Yes, I do’

15.27% said ‘No, she was just having fun’

We have long lived in a culture where if a Black woman points out a White woman’s racist, malevolent treatment of her she is silenced with accusations of being “jealous” of that racist White woman and White women in general, but that bull crap isn’t flying anymore!

I have no idea why anyone fell for that non-sense in the first place. In my experience, when you have a two groups of women in a room and one group is composed of WW and the other BW, it’s the WW who are obsessively noting every single move that the BW make. This is especially true if you are slim and dress well.

And if you’re a BW in an IRR marriage, you can always count on getting the evil dagger eyes from random young WW. And the man doesn’t even have to be White for some WW to be upset that you’re with him, which I find just plain bizarre. You’d think that it would be the old WW behaving this way, but nope it’s the young ones. It’s rare that I have such experiences with old WW. That’s why when people (usually “progressives” Black and White) try to sell me on the idea that being racist is merely an “old-fashioned” way of being I know that’s bull.

Now, I have absolutely no idea if “blondes have more fun”, but I can tell you that as a tall, slim, busty, leggy, beautiful (or so I am often told) BW with a high round butt, I have always had a good time and never lacked for attention – both wanted and unwanted. To own the truth, I have even more fun when the bleach-head crowd stares daggers at me while I have a good time. :lol:

Ladies, ALWAYS strive to be your best and look your best. The haters want you to hide your light under a bushel, because we can only be imitated but NEVER duplicated.

About blackfemaleculture

I am an African American woman looking to connect with other African American women who are interested in reinventing a wholesome, empowering culture that feeds the minds and souls of African American women and their children.
This entry was posted in IRR, Lifestyle, Relationships, Social Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Is Racism More Fun for Blondes?

  1. “I know that many people believe that this is a simple matter of jealousy and/or racism, but I know from experience that it’s deeper than that. I have never heard of a WM athlete mocking a BM athlete in this way, and I doubt I ever will. And this isn’t because there are no jealous and racist WM athletes – far from it, but because a WM athlete would not expect to get away with such behavior. They would not expect people to take their side and say that they were “just having fun”. This knowledge effectively checks any desire to behave in such a manner.
    However, experience tells WW that they will not be called out for their racist words and actions, simply because they are women.”

    Of course because if a white man were to do something like this it would be off with his head. They would call to have him banned from the games. The double standards are so obvious its pathetic. I remember when Gwenyth paltrow said the word N*igger and black MEN were defending her. Even though she was quoting a song if a white man had of said that they would have ripped him to shreds.

    “I suspect that Caroline Wozniacki also did not expect that anyone would dare to criticize or confront her for her blatantly offensive behavior. She has not been punished, and probably won’t be but even criticism of racist, offensive behavior is new to such WW. That is why it happened. I’ve no doubt about that.”
    Exactly . Its always peculiar ww always seem *shocked* when they are actually called on their shit. That’s one of the reasons why I don’t understand when people say WM are the most racist. People actually call them on their crap. WW are allowed to get away with murder. I remember this year during the Olympics some greek woman said something racist on twitter and was banned from the games, and she just *couldn’t* believe it. SMH at the pure stupidity. What did she expect?

    “We have long lived in a culture where if a Black woman points out a White woman’s racist, malevolent treatment of her she is silenced with accusations of being “jealous” of that racist White woman and White women in general, but that bull crap isn’t flying anymore”
    THiS! I hear this so many times! Of course a black women can’t point anything out without them jealous of their lovely white counterparts. It simply can’t be the truth.
    There is an awesome blog that talks about WW sabotaging BW at work. From the article and the comments it sounds like it’s quite common. I love her blog but she doesn’t post anymore.
    http://blackfemininity.com/2010/07/29/how-assumed-femininity-is-used-against-black-women-part-i/
    another good post by her is

    http://blackfemininity.com/2010/06/23/dismantling-the-stereotypes-about-the-black-female-body/

    • I remember that blog. I actually read the first article more than a year ago, but the second article is new to me. Thank you, for sharing the links! I had wanted to add a link to the Assumed Femininity article but could not remember the name of the blog.

  2. Nikstar says:

    Good Heavens! I do love you and this blog. Please, don’t stop writting. Block naysayers, troll and non supporter. I need you in my life! Your blog is like a ‘decompress’ button for the black women ills I have to suffer. Yes, this medicore t**t was being as racist, jealous, hate filled as she possibly could be on worldwide television. This is PRIME example of WW priv. No hardly anyone except, except black women, will call them on it. So they keep doing it freely and will readily receive get the support of non white male supporters. I’m so happy that she’s received swift and harsh criticism from thousands of people via social media.

  3. Kendra Blake says:

    Great post! I think this type of behavior is so commonplace that it’s often looked on as not being worthy of mention. It needs to stop, but won’t stop till the ww engaging in this behavior are put on blast for it. I have yet to see that happen outside of BW circles. There are polls on White blogs that are largely in favor of Caroline whatever just having fun, but thats no surprise.

    I’m happy to hear that the b*tch at your workplace got what she deserved. Some of these chicks have way too much nerve.

    • Yeah, I expected the White blogs to push the “White girl’s just having fun with bigotry” line of thinking. Typical.

      My advice for any BW who is going through what I went through is to record, record, and record — in a journal and digitally. And not just WW, anyone who is harassing and demeaning you. This means Black men — who are more likely to attack you in the workplace than WW, and WM, Asians, Hispanics, etcetera. Even other BW. Do not give ANYONE license to abuse you! We can become famous for outing racists, misogynists and bullies in the workplace. If I could do it, anyone can. That is when it will stop… In the workplace at least.

  4. Another WW attention whore has gotten herself some ink: Baby momma Palin, using the POTUS and his children. SMH.

  5. just me says:

    Just discovered your blog through Ms Heartbeat!

  6. M says:

    Happy holidays, everyone. *nods around*

    A friend of mine and I who are pretty rabid BW tennis fans (which puts you in a fairly small subculture where you see a lot of, um, interesting stuff, a lot of which you point to in the article) were discussing this at some length a few days ago, right after it happened.

    We basically came to the conclusion that we were looking even more forward to the next time ReRe kicks Woz’s butt — which should not be long in coming, at all, as the Australian Open starts early this year, on 14 Jan. :-)

    • “We basically came to the conclusion that we were looking even more forward to the next time ReRe kicks Woz’s butt — which should not be long in coming, at all, as the Australian Open starts early this year, on 14 Jan.”

      I’m not much of a sports watcher myself, unless you count the Olympics and men’s gymnastics, but I would happily sit through that tennis face-off. :)
      Happy Holidays!

  7. MB says:

    Brilliant post! My thoughts on this…

    The concept of beauty, from what I’ve noticed, is often based on a racial hierarchy. Some WW have been raised to believe that they are at the top of the totem pole and women of color (especially if you are Black or mixed-race) are the bottom of the barrel. Hence the reason they feel free to openly mock Black women and disparage features like hair, body shape, etc. They’ve been taught that they are superior to non-white women. Racist white women tend to feed into the notion that they are the best and they deserve it all…but when they meet a woman who isn’t white, yet possesses beauty, intelligence, femininity, and charm, this makes them see red. In their minds, she is lower than them because she isn’t white. How dare she be prettier and more feminine? How dare she be soft-spoken instead of the stereotypical loud Black woman? How dare she look younger than her actual age? How dare she date/marry a White man, or even a Black man in some cases? Doesn’t she know her “place”? Look at how uppity she is! This is how many of them think, trust me.

    I’ve had a few bad experiences with racist WW and at the time, my self-esteem was affected, but now I realize that they were threatened by the fact that I was pretty and definitely not the “stereotypical” Black woman. I believe that women in general are competitive but when the racial stuff comes into play, things can get ugly. I’ve been married to my husband nearly 5 years now and sometimes I see WW and Latinas shooting dirty looks at me. His sister is nice enough to my face, but I can tell that she has issues with the fact that I am much younger, I carry myself well, and I have more style than she does. It burns her up. Racist, insecure WW don’t like to see a BW looking better than they do AT ALL. They feel more comfortable if you are obese, mammy-like, unfeminine, and don’t take care of yourself. They feel more comfortable when men (of all races) prefer them because it reminds them of their “superior” status. Heaven help you if a man they find attractive shows interest in you…they will do anything to put you in your perceived “place” beneath them.

Comments are closed.